Select Page

Board of Education

2016-17 Board of Education

Standing (L to R): Shay Harrison, Mark Mann, James Giordano, John Dunn Jr., Michael Buono. Sitting: Kathleen Curtin, Jennifer Massey, JoAnn Taylor, Karen Curran.

The East Greenbush Central School District Board of Education is a team comprised of nine volunteer community members. Each of them is elected by District voters and serve three-year terms. The Board of Education acts in accordance with New York State law and regulations established by the Commissioner of the New York State Department of Education. The Board of Education is sensitive to the needs of its community.  It responds by listening to the aspirations of its neighbors, and responds within the means of available resources. The Board accomplishes these goals in a variety of ways:

  • Publishing a clear manual of policies
  • Drafting and discussing openly an annual budget to be approved by voters
  • Connecting the Central Administrative team to the community
  • Working with the Central Administrative team in ratifying personnel matters

The Board of Education encourages community involvement. Residents are invited to join the Board at its meetings, which are held twice monthly. Locations are selected at various school buildings across the District, with the purpose that the Board may best reach all of the people it represents. The Board communicates with the public by way of this website, Facebook, and Twitter. It also publishes an annual comprehensive newsletter, FOCUS, which provides detailed information to District residents about school programs, initiatives, and finances.

The Board of Education and Central Administration team have created a joint email account to receive your questions, comments and concerns. You may contact them by clicking here. A response will be made by the Superintendent of Schools, unless your email is specifically addressed to the Board of Education, in which case the Board President or Vice-President will respond on behalf of the Board.

2016-17 Board of Education Goals


2016-17 Board of Education

Click here to learn more about the Board members.

Phone Term Expiration Date
Dr. Shay Harrison, President 542-9045 June 30, 2019
Mark Mann, Vice-President 859-3863 June 30, 2017
Michael Buono 577-8049 June 30, 2017
Karen Curran, Assistant Clerk 283-5654 June 30, 2019
Kathleen Curtin 479-5890 June 30, 2017
John J. Dunn, Jr. 434-2175 June 30, 2018
James Giordano 479-0280 June 30, 2019
Jennifer Massey 491-8330 June 30, 2018
JoAnn Taylor, Deputy Treasurer 283-5393 June 30, 2018


Information on School Board Elections

Individuals interested in running for the Board of Education may obtain information here.