Select Page

The Goff Science Olympiad team won the Capital District Regional Science Olympiad Competition on Saturday at Goff Middle School. Goff entered three teams into the competition and they earned a total of 42 medals. The first place win qualifies Goff for the New York State finals on April 7 in East Syracuse, N.Y.

Goff’s Science Olympiad team has been Capital District champion 17 times in the past 20 years.

The competition, which featured 21 different events, was run by Capital District Regional Coordinator and Goff Middle School Head Coach Donnamarie Vlieg.

“This competition was a true testament to the community coming together to support the students,” Mrs. Vlieg said. “I would like to thank the community members, alumni and high school students who volunteered their time on Saturday to provide the students with this opportunity to compete.”

Team members included:

9th graders: Ryan Allen, Owen Ball, Timmy Baker, Justine Fournier, Connor Hurley, Noelle Maloney Noah Millan, Tyler Pearson, Connor See,  Nidhi Shah, Nina Tedeschi,

8th graders: David Adadjo, Ekansh Agrawal, Nathan Beams, Thomas Bellisario, Bella Besuud, Thomas Breimer, Connor Broglio, Sophia Culver, Madeline Demers, Ben Gadreault, Julia Hawkins, Carson Kehmna, Buffy Kromer, Anthony Marino, Zackary Malmberg, Praaghya Meyyan, Robert Moore, Katie Mowry, Colin Mihill, Rishita Nagothi, Mariya Sikirzhytskaya, Bailey Tator, Clara Xin

7th graders: Hubert Chang, Taylor Childs, Anika Galkiewicz, Nathan Geng,  Nathan Haney, James Kennedy, Shashawat Panigrahi, Jack Reilly, Ashish Roddam, Maria Rybakov, Gabe Tucker,  Steven Yang

Coaches: Donnamarie Vlieg, John Cirincione, Jenna Wood

Gold Medals

Experimental Design – Anthony Marino, Carson Kehmna, Noelle Maloney
Dynamic Planet – Justine Fournier, Connor See
Disease Detective – Nina Tedeschi, Ekansh Agrawal
Ecology – Clara Xin, Ben Gadreault
Fast Facts – Nathan Beams, David Adadjo
Food Science – Nidhi Shah, Carson Kehmna
Hovercraft – Owen Ball, Nina Tedeschi
Invasive Species  – Noah Millan, Mariya Sikirzhytskaya
Meteorology – Noelle Maloney, Connor Broglio
Optics – Connor Hurley, Owen Ball
Reach for the Stars – Thomas Breimer, Zackary Malmberg
Rocks and Minerals – Owen Ball Thomas Breimer
Scrambler – Owen Ball, Noah Millan
Towers – Ryan Allen, Ashish Roddam
Wright Stuff – Ekansh Agrawal, Connor Hurley

Silver Medals

Anatomy and Physiology – Bailey Tator, Madeline Demers
Bottle Rocket – Ekansh Agrawal, Nina Tedeschi
Dynamic Planet
– Nina Tedeschi, Ekansh Agrawal
Fast Facts – Clara Xin, Julia Hawkins
Herpetology – Tyler Pearson, Bailey Tator
Meteorology – Zackary Malmberg, Nina Tedeschi
Reach for the Stars – Bella Besuud, Sophia Culver
Road Scholar – Carson Kehmna, Noelle Maloney
Scrambler – Taylor Childs, Anika Galkiewicz
Towers – Hubert Chang, Gabe Tucker
Wind Power – Ben Gadreault, Ekansh Agrawal

Bronze Medals

Anatomy and Physiology – Nidhi Shah, Connor Broglio
Disease Detective – Bella Besuud, Sophia Culver
Ecology – Justine Fournier, Timmy Baker
Experimental Design – Mariya Sikirzhytskaya, Noah Millan, Tyler Pearson
Fast Facts – Justine Fournier, Ryan Allen
Food Science – Katie Mowry, Buffy Kromer
Hovercraft – Colin Mihill, Nathan Haney
Invasive Species – Connor See, Timmy Baker
Microbe Mission – Katie Mowry, Bailey Tator
Road Scholar – Connor Hurley, Madeline Demers
Rocks and Minerals – Julia Hawkins, David Adadjo
Scrambler – Ryan Allen, Adam DiCesare
Towers – Ben Gadreault, Buffy Kromer
Wind Power – Ashish Roddam, Shashwat Panigrahi
Wright Stuff – Ryan Allen, Ashish Roddam
Write It / Do It – Maria Rybakov, Anika Galkiewicz