COVID-19 Updates and Information

Opening Plan | COVID-19 Updates | Return to School After Illness Form | Find a COVID-19 Vaccine

Select Page

As the Lighthouse 1:1 Chromebook Program is about to launch with the new school year, teachers and staff received related professional development on Wednesday morning to support their instruction. They chose to participate in any two of 11 different classes that were led by colleagues.

“Today’s professional development was designed to support our 1-to-1 Chromebook initiative focusing on the International Society for Technology in Education standards,” said Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction James McHugh. “The ISTE Standards serve as a framework for our students, educators, support staff and administrators to rethink education and create innovative learning environments. Many of today’s offerings focused on how we can use our available technology to enhance instruction and increase opportunities for student learning.”

Classes included:

  • Chromebook 101 & Using Clever with QR Codes
  • Common Sense Media for Educators
  • envision Math 2.0
  • Go Guardian Teacher Module (Introduction)
  • Go Guardian Teacher Module (Advanced)
  • Google Classroom
  • Google Classroom for ELL Students
  • NearPod (Introduction)
  • NearPod (Advanced)
  • Supporting Students & Teachers in a 1:1 Technology Device Classroom
  • Typing Club

“I applaud the willingness of our staff to engage in this work as we continue our efforts to prepare all students for college and career readiness,” Mr. McHugh said. “Under the direction of Technology Director Peter Goodwin, our technology team worked tirelessly to prepare for this day. It was extremely gratifying to see so many of our own staff members leading tech sessions and sharing some of their knowledge with colleagues. This was exemplary of the level of professionalism that exists within our district.”

Special thanks to our staff members who presented today including Lisa Mahar, Kelyn Snyder, Shawn Yearsley, Michael Neumann, Wayne Grignon, Lindsey Bernard, Edward Kilmartin, Peter Goodwin, Jaime Tobin, Laura Wladarczyk and Sarah Virnelli.