Update for Columbia Graduation and Goff Elevation Celebration

In response to further changes to New York State guidelines for outdoor gatherings announced earlier this week, Columbia High School has consolidated its three graduation ceremonies and will instead host one graduation for the Class of 2021 on Friday, June 25 on the CHS turf field at 4:00 p.m. Howard L. Goff Middle School will follow the plan for Columbia Graduation and also host one Elevation Celebration for all 8th grade students on Thursday, June 24 at 4:00 p.m. on the CHS turf field. Each student may be joined by up to four guests.

Daily COVID-19 Screening Form | COVID-19 Updates | COVID-19 Forms | Find a COVID-19 Vaccine | Reopening Plans

Select Page

Goff Science Olympiad team at Harvard InviteTwo teams from Howard L. Goff Middle School placed in the top 10 at the prestigious Harvard Science Olympiad Invitational on Sunday. This competition attracts teams from the East Coast, especially teams that have previously competed at Nationals. Goff’s teams placed 5th and 9th overall.

“Only one other school with two teams at the competition had both their teams place in the top 10 so this was quite an achievement,” said Donnamarie Vlieg, Goff’s head coach.

Goff had 14 top-5 finishes and an additional 12 top-10 placements.

The team’s next competition is the Capital District Regional competition on Saturday at Hudson Valley Community College.


Medalists at Harvard Science Olympiad invite

Mason Smith and Teddy Howard won gold medals in the Road Scholar event at the Harvard Science Olympiad Invitational on Sunday.

Gold medal:

  • Road Scholar – Teddy Howard and Mason Smith

Bronze medal:

  • Boomilever – Austin Ernst and Akkhil Morkanda
  • Elastic Launch Glider – Akkhil Morkanda and Akshat Arinav
  • Fossils – Ria Hegde and Prithul Gautam
  • Heredity – Emma Gentile and Harini Conji

4th place:

  • Experimental  Design – Tori Patrissy, Emily Koenig and Madison Passineau
  • Disease Detective – Harini Conji and Annie Hall
  • Meteorology – Akshat Arinav and Teddy Howard

5th place:

  • Dynamic Planet – Morgan Sanford and Allie Holston
  • Mission Possible – Austin Ernst
  • Mousetrap – Thomas Marchiony and Aadit Akula
  • Ornithology – Alaina Marino and Zach Booth
  • Picture This – Nick Puglise and Joann Pole
  • Road Scholar – Shannon Breimer and Tori Patrissy

Additional Top 10 Placments

6th place

  • Food Science – Morgan Sanford and Emma Gentile
  • Mousetrap Vehicle – Teddy Howard and Ethan Fink
  • Meteorology – Tori Patrissy and Emily Koenig

7th place

  • Heredity –  Zach Booth and Mallary Klemme

8th place

  • Density – Akkhil Morkanda and Ada Wu
  • Elastic Launch Glider – Alaina Marino and Colin Kelliher
  • Machines – Teddy Howard and Ria Hegde
  • Ornithology – Annie Hall and Sophia Xin
  • Water Quality – Allie Holston and Harini Conji

9th place

  • Boomilever – Alaina Marino
  • Circuit Lab – Akshat Arinav and Ada Wu
  • Food Science – Laney Broglio and Emily Koenig