Select Page

CHS No Place for Hate imageColumbia High School received its designation as a No Place for Hate school from the Anti-Defamation League on Thursday. The program promotes an anti-bias and anti-bullying message to create a more positive school environment.

To receive No Place for Hate designation, a school must complete the following:

  • Needs assessment
  • Formation of a No Place for Hate committee
  • Signing of the Resolution of Respect
  • One A World of Difference® Institute anti-bias or bullying prevention training program
  • Design and implementation of three school-wide anti-bias or bullying prevention activities

After informational and planning sessions with ADL in the fall and early winter, and weekly meetings throughout the year, Columbia students signed the Resolution of Respect on March 11 and 12. They organized programs and events such as Observing Intentional Acts of Respect, Using Literature to Address Bullying, and Identity Jigsaw.

“Columbia High School students have been committed all year to create a school of tolerance and understanding,” said Principal Michael Harkin. “This designation signifies the hard work of the students.”

No Place for Hate Committee

  • Mr. Jason DeFrias
  • Azaria Fair (President)
  • Haley Earing (Vice President)
  • Olivia Brock (Secretary)
  • Jessica Drzymala (Treasurer)
  • Marisa Young
  • Laura Christian
  • Mikelle Backmon
  • Hailey Fink
  • Eric Blostein
  • Kamil Celustka
Other Committee Member:
  • Principal Michael Harkin
Community Member:
  • Officer Marie Abraham