Students in the Science National Honor SocietyColumbia High School has inducted 31 students into its Science National Honor Society, which supports science awareness and career exploration.

“This year’s SNHS inductees may be our strongest yet!” said Columbia Science Teacher and Department Chair Tom Ross. “Despite the difficulties and setbacks these students endured relating to the pandemic, our inductees have still managed to achieve the high bar set by the Science National Honor Society. Furthermore, we already have a list of community events to foster the love of science that these students embody.”

Requirements for induction include an 85% GPA, no grade lower than 85% (weighted) in any science class, taken or be enrolled in at least one honors or AP science course by junior year and be taking a second-year science course (college or AP) in their senior year.

Once inducted, students must complete 10 hours of science-related community service and attend at least one science lecture.

“I feel that the Science National Honor Society is more than just an honor society for seniors who love science,” said Nicholas Pugliese ’23, who was inducted into the Science National Honor Society. “SNHS involves a diverse group of individuals within the community and allows them to have the opportunity to learn something new. It gives students a chance to explore a different field of science that may not have otherwise been taught. I am looking forward to the various activities planned in the spring that would help younger students expand their horizons and try cool science experiments! It is a great way to get them involved and learn new things.”

Congratulations to the following students!

  • Raychelle Adadjo
  • Akshat Arinav
  • Madison Arsenault
  • Jacob Baker
  • Zachary Booth
  • Laney Broglio
  • Logan Buckley
  • Raziya Coleman
  • Hariharan Conji
  • Harinisri Conji
  • Sarah Donovan
  • Madeline Epping
  • Austin Ernst
  • Naim Greenberg-Nielsen
  • Madeline Gruber
  • Julia Harbour
  • Henry Heeps
  • Theodore Howard
  • Jenna Lallier
  • Alaina Marino
  • John Marra
  • Joshua McKinney
  • Akkhil Morkonda
  • Rachel Ostiguy
  • Kaelyn Pagones
  • Tori Patrissy
  • Nicholas Pugliese
  • Kayla Simons
  • Shea Thorpe
  • Seana Weerakoon
  • Evan Witte