Select Page

Graduation Information

Class of 2018 Graduation CeremonyColumbia’s Class of 2020 Graduation Ceremony will be held Saturday, June 27 at 10:00 a.m. (students must be in meeting rooms by 8:45 a.m.) in the McDonough Sports Complex at Hudson Valley Community College.

When will students receive their cap and gowns?
Cap and gown distribution is scheduled for Friday, June 26 immediately after the MANDATORY graduation rehearsal. Students who have not ordered a cap and gown should call Frank Dignard at Jostens (888-248-9084) to order one IMMEDIATELY. Students are required to wear a cap and gown if they wish to attend graduation.

**Students will not receive their caps and gowns if they are on the CHS debt list (they have not returned school books or uniforms, or have an outstanding balance on their cafeteria meal account). The debt list is posted during Regent’s week. Students will need to resolve all debts BEFORE the rehearsal on June 26.

Is there a graduation rehearsal?
Yes, there is a mandatory graduation rehearsal. This will be held at 10 a.m., Friday, June 26, 2020 in the CHS auditorium. Students will need to provide their own transportation as there are no buses on this day.

Why is attendance at the graduation rehearsal mandatory?
We want to make sure the ceremony is a dignified, memorable event for graduating seniors and their families. During the rehearsal we will make every attempt to be sure the student’s name is pronounced correctly and that the student understands appropriate graduation behavior.

Will students be receiving tickets for this year’s graduation?
Tickets will not be dispersed this year. There is enough seating at HVCC for all.

What time is graduation?
Graduation will be held at 10:00 a.m., Saturday, June 27, 2020 at the Hudson Valley Community College’s (HVCC) McDonough Sports Complex.

What is the length of the graduation ceremony?
The ceremony lasts approximately two hours.

What should students wear under their robes?
Appropriate attire should be worn under the student’s gown. Light colored dress attire should be worn (dresses for the ladies and dress pants for the gentlemen). Students need to climb and descend stairs and appropriate footwear should be worn. Flip-flops are not appropriate and have caused students to fall down the stairs in past ceremonies.

What time do students need to be at HVCC for the graduation ceremony?
Students must be in the Ice Rink at HVCC Sports Complex by 8:45 a.m., Saturday, June 27, 2020.

How early should guests arrive?
Doors will open to the McDonough Sports Complex at 9:00 a.m.

What are the parking procedures?
Parking at HVCC is free. Please follow signs for the McDonough Sports Complex.

When will students in the National Honors Society (NHS) receive their gold cords?
Students will receive their gold cords at the mandatory graduation rehearsal.

Updated December 13, 2019