COVID-19 Updates and Information

Opening Plan | COVID-19 Updates | Return to School After Illness Form | Find a COVID-19 Vaccine

Select Page

Goff Science Olympiad team at 2018 state championshipGoff Middle School’s Science Olympiad Team placed 2nd in the New York State finals on Saturday in Syracuse, qualifying them for the National Championship in Colorado next month.

More than 230 middle school teams from across New York State competed in their regional competitions in February and March with 39 teams qualifying for the finals.

Goff, the Capital District champions, set a school record at the state finals by earning medals in 21 out of the 26 events in which they competed. Medals were given to the top 10 finishers. The Goff team was state champions in three events, silver medalists in three events and bronze medalists in two.

The coaches are very proud of the team and their incredible performance at the competition. Congratulations!

Ekansh Agrawal and Shashwat Panigrahi

Ekansh Agrawal and Shashwat Panigrahi teamed up to win gold medals in two events – Thermodynamics and
Wright Stuff.


Parasitology – Bailey Tator and Morgan McHugh
Thermodynamics – Ekansh Agrawal and Shashwat Panigrahi
Wright Stuff – Ekansh Agrawal and Shashwat Panigrahi

Silver Medalists

Fast Facts – Sophia Culver and Anna Hallock
Meteorology – Sophia Culver and Gavin Trautman
Solar System – Jack Reilly and Gavin Trautman

Bronze Medalists

Crime Busters – Jack Reilly and Ethan Trautman
Herpetology – Madeline Demers and Maryia Sikirzhytskaya

4th place:

Rocks and Minerals – Anika Galkiewicz and Jack Reilly

5th place:

Dynamic Planet – Anika Galkiewicz and Gavin Trautman
Ecology – Sophia Culver and Clara Xin

6th place:

Disease Detective – Ethan Trautman and Clara Xin
Microbe Mission – Maria Rybakov and Clara Xin
Science Quiz Bowl – Buffy Kromer, Anthony Marino, and Bailey Tator

7th place:

Anatomy – Ekansh Agrawal and Maryia Sikirzhytskaya
Expermental Design – Madeline Demers, Anika Galkiewicz and Maryia Sikirzhytskaya
Hovercraft – Ekansh Agrawal and Shashwat Panigrahi
Road Scholar – Madeline Demers and Teddy Howard
Rollercoaster – Teddy Howard and Makenzie Wagner
Write It/ Do It – Anna Hallock and Maria Rybakov

8th place:

Potions and Poisons – Anna Hallock and Maria Rybakov