Capital Project

The East Greenbush CSD has proposed a $116 million capital project that, if approved by voters, would improve facilities and grounds at all seven schools at no additional cost to the local taxpayer. The proposed capital project will be a proposition on the School Budget Vote and Board Election ballot scheduled for Tuesday, May 21, 2024.

Video | Brochure | Infographic | More Information

Select Page

Testing

The East Greenbush CSD uses tests throughout the school year to evaluate what students have learned and to determine future instruction. The District also administers state-mandated tests throughout a student’s K-12 education, including the grades 3-8 math and ELA tests each spring and Regents Exams required for graduation.

2023-24 Testing Schedule

  • January Regents Exams
    • Tuesday, January 23 – Friday, January 26
  • NYS Grades 3-8 ELA Exam
    • Grades 3-4 and 6-7 on Wednesday, April 10 and Thursday, April 11
    • Grade 5 (Bell Top/DPS/Green Meadow) on Tuesday, April 16 and Wednesday, April 17
    • Grade 5 (Genet/Red Mill) on Thursday, April 18 and Friday, April 19
  • NYS Grades 3-8 Math Exam
    • Grades 3-4 and 6-7 on Tuesday, April 7 and Wednesday, April 8
    • Grade 5 (Bell Top/DPS/Green Meadow) on Tuesday, April 30 and Wednesday, May 1
    • Grade 5 (Genet/Red Mill) on Thursday, May 2 and Friday, May 3
  • NYS Grade 5 Science Exam
    • Bell Top/DPS/Green Meadow on Monday, May 13
    • Genet/Red Mill on Tuesday, May 14
  • June Regents Exams
    • Friday, June 14 – Tuesday, June 25

SAT

The SAT is an entrance exam used by most colleges and universities to make admissions decisions. The SAT is a multiple-choice, pencil-and-paper test created and administered by the College Board. Students typically take the exam in the spring of Junior year and in the fall of Senior year.

PSAT (Practice SAT)

The PSAT/NMSQT is the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The PSAT is a great primer for the SAT, and even the ACT, but it’s more than just a trial run. PSAT scores are used to identify National Merit Scholars and award merit scholarships in their junior year. This exam is recommended for Juniors and Honors English Sophomores in the fall.

  • The PSAT is 2 hours, 45 minutes long
  • Multiple-choice test in Math and Evidence-Based Reading and Writing
  • Costs $18.00 (2019-20)
  • Offered here at CHS in the fall
  • Counselors will go into English classrooms to provide students registration information in September

Pre-ACT

The Pre-ACT is recommended for Sophomores and is offered at Columbia High School during Regents Week in January.

  • Test is administered Friday, January 26, 2024 starting at 7:15 a.m.
  • The Pre-ACT is 2 hours, 10 minutes but an additional 60 minutes for pre-administration activities
  • Multiple-choice test
  • Costs $19.00 (2024)
  • Counselors will go into English classrooms to provide students registration information in December
  • Register for Exam

AP Exams

The College Board is planning to administer AP exams in the traditional pencil and paper format (which is subject to change) in May 2024. Any changes will be communicated prior to testing by the College Board.

Columbia High School will be offering the following AP exams this year during the AP testing window of May 6-10 and May 13-17, 2024.

Week 1 Morning (8:00 a.m.) Afternoon (12:00 p.m.)
Monday, May 6, 2024 Chemistry
Tuesday, May 7, 2024 Microeconomics
Wednesday, May 8, 2024 English Literature and Composition
Thursday, May 9, 2024 Environmental Science
Friday, May 10, 2024 U.S. History

 

Week 2 Morning (8:00 a.m.) Afternoon (12:00 p.m.) Afternoon (2:00 p.m.)
Monday, May 13, 2024 Calculus AB
Calculus BC
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 English Literature and Composition Physics C: Mechanics Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism
Wednesday, May 15, 2024 World History
Thursday, May 16, 2024 Biology
Friday, May 17, 2024 Physics 1: Algebra-Based Physics 2: Algebra-Based