East Greenbush CSD Voters Approve School Budget and Capital Project

East Greenbush Central School District residents approved the proposed school budget for 2024-25 earlier today, as well as a $116 million capital project and the purchase of eight new school buses with the highest voter turnout since 2017 (excluding mail in vote of 2020).

Vote Results

Select Page

Columbia Science Olympiad Team at Regional ChampionshipColumbia High School won the Capital District Regional Science Olympiad Championship on Saturday at Ballston Spa High School. In a field of 17 teams from 13 high schools, Columbia’s varsity team won the tournament, earning 22 medals in 23 events. The victory marks Columbia’s 28th regional championship in the last 29 competitions.

The varsity team advances to the State Championships which is scheduled for March 18-19 at Le Moyne College in Syracuse.

Columbia’s JV team also performed well at the Regional Championships, winning nine medals.

Congratulations to the following medal winners!


  • Bridge – Akkhil Morkonda and Zack Booth
  • Cell Biology – Maria Rybakov and Alaina Marino
  • Dynamic Planet – Teddy Howard and Nicholas Pugliese
  • Experimental Design – Harini Conji, Austin Ernst, Laney Broglio
  • Gravity Vehicle – Nicholas Pugliese and Teddy Howard
  • Ornithology – Harini Conji and Sophia Xin
  • Ping Pong Parachute  –  Shashwat Panigrahi and Tori Patrissy
  • Remote Sensing – Teddy Howard and Akshat Arinav
  • Trajectory – Alex Dumond and Chris Uttendorfer
  • Wright Stuff – Alaina Marino and Austin Ernst


  • Anatomy – Akkhil Morkonda and Austin Ernst
  • Bridge – Emily Koenig and Evan Witte
  • Disease Detectives – Akkhil Morkonda and Sophia Xin


  • Astronomy – Caitlin Weinheimer and Maliha Ghani
  • Chemistry Lab – Maria Rybakov and Akkhil Morkonda
  • Experimental Design – Anika Galkiewicz, Morgan Sanford, Evan Witte
  • Green Generation – Nich Pugliese and Prithul Gautam
  • Wifi Lab – Ashish Roddam and Akshat Arinav
  • Wright Stuff.- Morgan Sanford and Hari Conji

4th-6th Place

  • Anatomy – Morgan Sanford and Emily Koenig
  • Astronomy – Shashwat Panigrahi and Akshat Arinav
  • Chemistry Lab – Maliha Ghani and Evan Witte
  • Codebusters – Maria Rybakov, Akshat Arinav, and Laney Broglio
  • Detector Building – Ashish Roddam and Shashwat Panigrahi
  • Disease Detectives – Zoe Collins and Chris Uttendorfer
  • Environmental Chemistry – Tori Patrissy and Harini Conji
  • Forensics – Tori Patrissy and Zach Booth
  • It’s About Time – Ashish Roddam and Prithul Gautam
  • Ornithology – Anika Galkiewicz and Joann Shirley Pole
  • Rocks and Minerals – Alaina Marino and Zach Booth
  • Trajectory – Ashish Roddam and Prithul Gautam